AA120-H Recognition of Accreditors

No./Title: AA120 – Recognition of Accreditors

Resp. Office: Academic Affairs

Approval Body: CASA

Effective Date: 7/1/2020

Category: Academic

Last Review: 7/7/2020

Next Review: 7/7/2023

Contact: MaryAnn Clark, Associate Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs

🕿 901.448.1290

🖂 mclark79@uthsc.edu


The University of Tennessee Health Science Center requires all prerequisite courses, transfer course credits, and degrees (where applicable) from US higher education institutions be awarded from an institution accredited by one of the following accreditors:

  • Higher Learning Commission
  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education
  • New England Commissions of Higher Education
  • Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities
  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, Commission on Colleges
  • WASC Accrediting Commission for Community or Junior Colleges
  • WASC Senior Colleges and University Commission

All prerequisite courses, transfer course credits, and degrees (where applicable) from international institutions must be evaluated by an approved equivalency agency.


Effective July 1, 2020, the Department of Education regulations have removed geography from an accrediting agency’s scope. Instead of distinguishing between regional and national accrediting agencies, the Department will distinguish only between institutional and programmatic accrediting agencies. The Department will no longer use the terms “regional” or “national” to refer to an accrediting agency. In order to provide clarity for current and potential students, UTHSC specifies the level of accreditation or review required for all transfer, prerequisite and degrees (where applicable).


Effective: July 1, 2020, Committee on Academic and Student Affairs (CASA)

Reviewed/Approved: July 7, 2020, CASA

AA120-H Recognition of Accreditors
Version: // Effective: 07/01/2020
PDF icon Downloadable PDF