UT - Martin Policy:	
SA0800-M Safety Committee	
Version: 1	Effective Date: 01/14/2019

1. PURPOSE

The Safety Committee is charged to identify or anticipate hazardous or potentially hazardous conditions on campus and make appropriate recommendations for correction, including periodic reviews of list of such conditions submitted by state, local, or campus officials such as Occupational Safety and Health Administration and Tennessee Occupational Safety and Health Administration standards.

2. COMPOSITION:

Appointment of the safety committee and the committee chair shall be made by the chancellor, appropriate vice president or a designee. The committee consists of the Emergency Management Coordinator & Safety Specialist, Director of Public Safety, Manager of Business Services, Representative of Student Housing, Director of Physical Plant, Representative of Student Life, Safety Officer, Associate Vice Chancellor of Academic Affairs, Director of Student Health, Chair of Department of Nursing, one (1) non-exempt staff representative, and the Student Government Association Vice President. The Emergency Management Coordinator & Safety Specialist will serve as chair, and the Manager of Business Services will serve as secretary.

3. REPORTING CHANNEL:

The committee reports to the Vice Chancellor for Finance and Administration.

4. COMMITTEE CHARGE:

The committee shall review and advise the chancellor or appropriate vice president and other administrators, on matters relating to the safety and health of employees, faculty, students and visitors to the university including proposed or amended campus safety and health policies and procedures. The committee shall also review reports of potential physical hazards and practices, injuries or illnesses and actual losses, and make recommendations for actions to be taken. The safety committee is to be advised of efforts already in place to reduce and/or control future accidents and illnesses. The committee shall meet at least semi-annually. The minutes of committee meetings shall be submitted to the Vice Chancellor for Finance and Administration.